New York Family Camp Fairs The Blackboard Awards
  • 2015-2016 Blackboard Awards For Schools & Principals

    The 15 honorees reflect the best in city education at every grade level and in every sector (public, private, charter, and parochial)

    By New York Family

    BBA_HONOREESOn Wednesday, December 2, the 2015-2016 Blackboard Awards For Schools and Principals, presented by New York Family, honored 15 of the city’s finest schools and principals in a special ceremony at the the New York Institute of Technology (NYIT). Nancy Redd, the host of HuffPost Live, was the co-host, along with Eric Messinger, the editor of New York Family. The event was sponsored in part by the Yorkville Youth Athletic Association.

    The Blackboard Awards honor excellence in local education in all sectors (public, private, charter, and parochial), and all grade levels (nursery through high school). The annual schools and principals’ ceremony is in the fall, and the annual teachers’ ceremony in the spring. Parents are welcome and encouraged to nominate their beloved schools and educators, and we typically hear from several thousand local families in the course of the year. We also have a board of advisors, experts in local education, who make recommendations as well.

    To see a video of this year’s Awards, scroll to the bottom of this post; to see a slideshow of photos from the Blackboard Awards ceremony and reception, click HERE!

    And the 2015-2016 Blackboard Awards for Schools & Principals Honorees are:

    Academy for Careers in Television and Film
    Principal: Edgar Rodriguez

    Bronx Charter School for Excellence
    Principals: Aleisha Rodriguez (Elementary School) & Desiree Hunter (Middle School)

    Community Roots Charter School
    Principals: Allison Keil & Sara Stone

    Friends Seminary
    Principal: Robert “Bo” Lauder

    Harvest Collegiate High School
    Principal: Kate Burch

    KIPP NYC College Prep High School
    Principal: Natalie Byrne

    La Scuola D’italia Guglielmo Marconi
    Principal: Dr. Maria Palandra

    Marymount School
    Headmistress: Concepcion R. Alvar

    Midtown West School
    Principal: Ryan Bourke

    Mott Hall II
    Principal: Marlon Lowe

    Pine Street School
    Founder: Jennifer Jones
    Director: Eileen Baker

    PS 58—The Carroll School
    Principal: Katherine Dello Stritto

    PS 158
    Principal: Dina Ercolano

    Special Music School at Kaufman Music Center
    Principal: Katherine Banucci-Smith

    Stephen Wise Free Synagogue Balfour Brickner Early Childhood Center
    Director: Lori Schneider

    See More Related Articles