• The 2016 Blackboard Awards For Teachers

    The 14 honorees reflect the best in city education at every grade level and in every sector (public, private, charter, and parochial)

    By New York Family

    On Monday, June 6, the 2016 Blackboard Awards For Teachers, presented by New York Family, honored 17 of the city’s finest teachers (from 14 great schools) in a special ceremony at the New York Institute of Technology (NYIT). Cynthia Rivera Weissblum, President & CEO of the Edwin Gould Foundation, was the co-host, along with Eric Messinger, the editor of New York Family. The event was sponsored in part by the Edwin Gould Foundation, Kumon, Manhattan Media, New York Family, NYIT, Smart City Kids, the United Federation of Teachers, and the Yorkville Youth Athletic Association.

    The Blackboard Awards honor excellence in local education in all sectors (public, private, charter, and parochial), and all grade levels (nursery through high school). The annual schools and principals’ ceremony is in the fall, and the annual teachers’ ceremony is in the spring. Parents are welcome and encouraged to nominate their beloved schools and educators, and we typically hear from several thousand local families in the course of the year. We also have a board of advisors made up of experts in local education who make recommendations as well.

    And the 2016 Blackboard Awards for Teachers Honorees are:

    Dr. Mark Aschenbrand
    Robert F. Wagner Middle School–M.S. 167

    Lilly Backer
    Poppyseed Pre-Nursery

    Kelly Baxter
    DREAM Charter School

    Josh Behar
    Booker T. Washington–M.S. 54

    Noah Gordon
    Special Music School at Kaufman Music Center

    Jeanne Graham
    Beginnings Nursery School

    Ann Marie Hourigan
    The British International School of New York

    Thomas Jones
    NYC iSchool–H.S. 376

    Adam Grant Kelley
    Battery Park City School–P.S. 276

    Molida Khuon
    International School of Brooklyn

    Diana Lambert
    Simon Baruch Middle School–M.S. 104

    Caroline Latham, Tanya Lerch, Kieran Peers & Aubree Stephens
    Convent of the Sacred Heart

    Kelly Schmidt
    St. Stephen of Hungary School

    Nekia Wise
    Beekman Hill International School–P.S. 59





    See More Related Articles