• 2014 Guide For New & Expectant Parents

    A Selective Guide To Local Bump & Baby Essentials

    By Mia Weber
    Scenes From the New York Baby Show

    Scenes From the New York Baby Show. A. De Vos Photo, Inc.

    Editor’s Note: For more tips on new parenting, see our articles “OB-GYNs, Midwives, Doulas & Lactation Experts” and “Best in Show

    For expectant and new parents (with children up to toddler age), New York Family has four very special and helpful resources:

    The New York Baby Show: New York Family’s grand annual event will take place in May 2015 at Pier 92. The expo attracts thousands of new and expectant families from the metropolitan area who come to discover hundreds of leading vendors and services for new families, while also enjoying seminars and lectures by parenting and family experts and sharing all sorts of fun activities with their infants and toddlers. newyorkbabyshow.com

    2014 New York Baby Showed Hosted by New York Family Magazine

    Rosie Pope at the New York Baby Show. Photo by A. De Vos Photo, Inc.

    Our Weekly Baby Newsletter: We also offer expectant and new parents a wonderful and free weekly e-newsletter filled with tips on pre- and post-natal resources, shopping tips, news, and musings—not to mention wonderful giveaways. The newsletter is mostly based on our popular New York Family Baby blog, which is where you can sign up to receive it every week. newyorkfamilybaby.com

    New York Family Baby: This magazine is a special bi- annual magazine focused solely on the needs and interests of expectant and new parents. It comes out in the Fall and the Spring.

    Finally, the following directory should help you address many of your needs as new parents as well.

    BABY & BREASTFEEDING GEAR

    Albee Baby albeebaby.com
    ANB Baby anbbaby.com
    Babesta babesta.com
    Babies“R”Us babiesrus.com
    Behr’s Superstore behrsfurniture.com
    Bellini Baby & Teen bellini.com
    Boing Boing boingboingmaternity.com
    Brooklyn Baby World brooklynbabyworld.com
    buybuyBABY buybuybaby.com
    caribou Baby cariboubaby.com
    giggle giggle.com
    Goodnight Room NYC goodnightroomnyc.com
    J&R Jr. jr.com/jr
    Metro Minis metrominis.com
    NessaLee Baby nessaleebaby.com

    FERTILITY CLINICS

    The Center for Reproductive Medicine and Infertility ivf.org
    New Hope Fertility newhopefertility.com
    NYU Fertility Center nyufertilitycenter.org
    Reproductive Medicine Associates of New York rmany.com

    HOSPITALS & BIRTHING CENTERS

    The Brooklyn Birthing Center brooklynbirthingcenter.com
    Lenox Hill Hospital lenoxhillhospital.org
    Maimonides Medical Center mainmonidesmed.org
    Mount Sinai Beth Israel Medical Center mountsinaihealth.org
    Mount Sinai hospital mountsinai.org
    Mount Sinai St. Luke’s-Roosevelt Hospital Center mountsinaihealth.org
    New York Methodist nym.org
    New York-Presbyterian/Columbia University Medical center nyp.org
    New York-Presbyterian/Lower Manhattan hospital nyp.org/lowermanhattan
    New York-Presbyterian/Morgan Stanley Children’s hospital childrensnyp.org/mschony
    New York-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center med.cornell.edu
    NYU Langone Medical Center med.nyu.edu

    IMG_4484

    Photo by Andrew Schwartz

    INFANT CPR

    Baby Be Safe babybesafe.com
    Little hearts littleheartscpr.com

    MATERNITY CLOTHES

    A Pea in the Pod apeainthepod.com
    Belly Dance Maternity bellydancematernity.com
    Bump Brooklyn bumpbrooklyn.com
    Clementine Consignment clementineconsignment.com
    Destination Maternity destinationmaternity.com
    Encore Maternity encorematernity.com
    Madison Rose madisonrosematernity.com
    Motherhood Maternity motherhood.com
    New York Baby Shop newyorkbabyshop.com
    Planet Kids planetkidsny.com
    Posh Baby poshbabyusa.com
    Pottery Barn Kids potterybarnkids.com
    Rosie Pope Baby shop.rosiepope.com
    Schneider’s schneidersbaby.com
    Sprout San Francisco sproutsanfrancisco.com
    Upper Breast Side upperbreastside.com
    Yummy Mummy yummymummystore.com

    A. De Vos Photo, Inc.

    Daron Pope at the New York Baby Show. Photo by A. De Vos Photo, Inc.

    BABY PLANNERS & CONCIERGE SERVICES

    The Baby Guy babyguygearguide.com
    The Baby Sleep Whisperer babysleepwhisperer.com
    King Kidlet kingkidlet.com
    Sissy & Marley sissyandmarley.com

    BABY-PROOFING

    A Plus child Proofing apluschildproofing.com
    All-Star Baby Safety allstarbabysafety.com
    Baby Proofers Plus babyproofersplus.com
    Baby-Safe Inc. babysafeamerica.com

    CHILDCARE

    Absolute Best Care absolutebestcare.com
    Au Pair Care aupaircare.com
    Au Pair In America aupairinamerica.com
    Barnard Babysitting barnardbabysitting.com
    Bright horizons brighthorizons.com
    Care care.com
    College & Nanny Tutors collegenannies.com
    Crisford & Co. crisfordandco.com
    EurAupair euraupair.com
    The Goddard School goddardschool.com
    Great Aupair greataupair.com
    The house of Little People thehouseoflittlepeople.org
    Irish Echo irishecho.com (for their listings)
    The Learning Experience thelearningexperience.com
    Lucky Lil’ Darlings luckylildarlings.com
    Mom To Moms Advisor momtomomsadvisor.com
    Mommybites mommybites.com
    Nannies Of New York nanniesofnewyork.com
    Nannies4hire nannies4hire.com
    The Nanny League thenannyleague.com
    Penelope’s People penelopespeople.com

    Andrew Schwartz

    Photo by Andrew Schwartz

    Pinch Sitters Agency nypinchsitters.com
    Preschool of America preschoolofamerica.us
    Preschool of the Arts nycpreschool.com
    Sensible Sitters sensiblesitters.com
    Sittercity sittercity.com
    Tutor Time tutortime.com
    Upper Westside Playgroup upperwestsideplaygroup.org
    Urban Sitter urbansitter.com
    Wee Care weecarellc.com

    DIAPER SERVICES

    Diaper Kind diaperkind.com
    Rosie Pope Maternity rosiepopematernity.com
    Veronique Maternity veroniquematernity.com

    A. De Vos Photo, Inc.

    Rosie Pope and Dr. Jen Trachtenberg at the New York Baby Show. Photo by A. De Vos Photo, Inc.

    PRE- AND POST-NATAL EDUCATION, FITNESS, AND SUPPORT

    92Y 92y.org
    Babies “R” Us babiesrus.com
    AquaMom aquamom.com
    Baby in the Family babyinthefamily.com
    Birth Day Presence birthdaypresence.net
    BklynBirth bklynbirth.com
    Caribou Baby cariboubaby.com
    Carriage House Birth carriagehousebirth.com
    Chic City Mom chiccitymom.com
    Choices in Childbirth choicesinchildbirth.org
    City Births citybirths.com
    Destination Maternity destinationmaternity.com (for their classes)
    Diastasis Rehab diastasisrehab.com
    Fern Drillings ferndrillings.com
    Fit4Mom fit4mom.com
    Fitnotic fitnotic.com
    The JCC In Manhattan jccmanhattan.org
    Karma Kids Yoga karmakidsyoga.com
    Mama Glow mamaglow.com
    Manhattan Twins Club manhattantwinsclub.org
    Metro Minis metrominis.com
    Mind Over Matter Health & Fitness (MOM) mindovermatternyc.com
    Mommybites mommybites.com
    MomPrep rosiepope.com
    Mom Support momsupport.org
    Newborn Notions newbornnotions.com
    Northeast Doulas northeastdoulas.com
    NYc Dads Group/New Dad Boot camps nycdadsgroup.com
    Pregnant New Yorker thepregnantnewyorker.com
    Prenatal Yoga center prenatalyogacenter.com
    Seleni Institute seleni.org
    Stork and cradle storkandcradle.com
    Strollercize strollercize.com
    Tribeca Parenting tribecaparenting.com
    Twiniversity twiniversity.com
    Urban Wellness Acupuncture urbanwellnessnyc.com
    Yummy Mummy yummymummystore.com

    SLEEP CONSULTANTS

    Deborah Pedrick familysleep.com
    Dream Team Baby dreamteambaby.com
    Mommywise mommywise.com
    NYc Sleep Doctor nycsleepdoctor.com
    SLEEP-EEZ KIDZ sleepeezkidz.com
    Sleepy On Hudson sleepyonhudson.com
    Smooth Parenting smoothparenting.com
    Soho Parenting sohoparenting.com
    Swellbeing swellbeing.com

    SPECIAL SERVICES FOR NEW PARENTS

    Cricket’s Circle cricketscircle.com
    iKidNY ikidny.com
    Mommy Nearest mommynearest.com
    pingMD pingmd.com
    weeSpring weespring.com